Some twenty political figures, researchers and academics around Europe uphold the UN Declaration on Peasants Rights.


This Wednesday, September 26, various prominent figures such as Ugo Mattei, Jean-Pascal van Ypersele or former Romanian Prime Minister Dacian Ciolos, signed the statement made by Olivier de Schutter, former UN Special Rapporteur on the right to food, published in several European newspapers, asking the EU Member states to support the “Declaration on the rights of peasants and other people working in rural areas”.


After 10 years of negotiations in Geneva, the final Declaration text was presented at the United Nations Human Rights Council last Friday, in order for the 47 Council members to take a decision (in a vote or by consensus) on the submission of the text to the UN General Assembly to put it to a vote in December 2018. The Declaration has been overwhelmingly supported by countries in Africa, Latin America and Asia. Europe, however, is dragging its feet.


With the exception of Portugal, which supports the Declaration, the EU Member states have not fully spoken out and many have declared that they are in favour of abstention. After all the consultations and given the important evolution of the initial text, it amounts to an opposition.


The European Coordination Vía Campesina is pleased to rely on the support of academics and prominent European figures and is fully supporting the call for the European governments to vote in favour of the Declaration during the vote which will take place this Friday, September 28, in Geneva.


Link to the tribunas:

France: Libération: L’Europe doit soutenir l’agriculture paysanne
Belgium: La Libre Belgique: Nous voulons des paysans

Spain: El Pais: Queremos Campesinos

Lanportal: We want peasants



Olivier De Schutter, former UN Special Rapporteur on the Right to Food (2008-2014) and Professor at the Université catholique de Louvain (UCL) (Belgium);

Ugo Mattei, Professor at the University of Turin (Italy) ;

Jean-Pascal van Ypersele, Professor at UCLouvain, former Vice-President (2008-2015) of the IPCC (Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change)(Belgium) ;

Eric Corijn, Professor at the Vrije Universiteit Brussel (Cosmopolis) (Belgium) ;

Marjolein Visser, Professor at the Université Libre de Bruxelles (Belgium);

Jean Jouzel, Climatologist and member of the EESC (France);

Jan Douwe van der Ploeg, Emeritus Professor at the University of Wageningen, (The Netherlands) ;

Franz Segbers, Professor at the University of Marburg (Germany) ;

Remo Klinger, Professor and lawyer, Geulen & Klinger Rechtsanwälte (Germany) ;

Hanns Wienold, Professor at the University of Muenster (Germany) ;

Nico Krisch, Professor at the Graduate Institute for International and Development Studies (Switzerland) ;

Maria Müller-Lindenlauf, Professor at the University of Applied Science Nürtingen-Geislingen (Germany) ;

Michael Krennerich, President of the Nuremberg Human Rights Centre (Germany);

Christine von Weizsäcker, President of Ecoropa (Germany);

Friederike Diaby-Pentzlin, Professor at the University of Wismar (Germany);

Brigitte Fahrenhorst, Professor at the Technical University of Berlin (Germany) ;

José Esquinas, Professor in several European Universities and former Director of FAO (Spain) ;

Dacian Ciolos, former Romanian Prime Minister, former European Commissioner for Agriculture. (Roumania).


picture credits @Dr. Peter Lengyel_EcoRuralis